Ar     En

small banner

مقابلة على اذاعة لبنان مع جواد بولس – بصوته

 

 


عزيزي القارىء،

هذا الموقع مخصّص لإحياء ذكرى رجل دولة لبناني أفضل ما يمكن أن يقال له هو أنه المنظّر للأمة اللبنانية. ولد جواد بولس في مطلع القرن العشرين، أي في السنوات الأخيرة للإمبراطورية العثمانية. شهد هذا العصر على بداية التعبير عن التطلّعات القومية في الشرق العربي من خلال كتابات وتصاريح نخبة مثقفة كانت في معظمها تستلهم من الغرب، لكنها كانت ترغب بإرساء المبادىء النبيلة للحقوق “البديهية” للانسان ومسعى التقرير الذاتي للمصير في مرسى التجربة التاريخية للشرق العربي.

كان جواد بولس يعتقد، كما أورده في كتاباته لاحقاً، أن لبنان أظهر على مرّ التاريخ ملامح وحدة جغرافية وإجتماعية وإقتصادية تحيطها حدود طبيعية على عكس حدود البلدان الأخرى لدول ما بات يُعرف بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط.  وقال بأن حقيقة وجود الأمة اللبنانية تتخّطى كل من دقّة التحليل العقلاني واختبار التجربة التاريخية على حدّ سواء. فلبنان، على حدّ قوله، كان في الواقع من أقدم الدول في العالم. أما حقيقة أن قوى الاستعمار في ذلك الوقت هي التي وضعت حدود البلد اللبناني النهائية  فلم تتعارض مع رأيه هذا. فرنسا نفسها، بحسب ما أشار إليه على سبيل المثال، شهدت على تبدّل في حدودها على مرّ التاريخ وحدودها الحالية ليست تاريخية بالكامل بالمعني الأساسي للكلمة.  كما انه لم يأبه لمن يشيرون الى الخارطة للبرهان ان لبنان انتزع من سوريا وان الجغرافيا تفرض الوحدة السياسية بين البلدين. وجوابه على ذلك ان لبنان ليس حالة استثنائية. فهل من أحد يعتقد ان البرتغال جزءاً من اسبانيا او أن التشيلي جزءاً من الارجنتين؟

أوضح الرجل السياسي الذي تحوّل مؤرّخاً الأطر الأساسية لفكره حول جزور القومية اللبنانية في بحثه “الأسس الحقيقية للبنان المعاصر” الذي يُعد على الأرجح نتاجه الأوضح والأكثرتحدّياً. أورد فيه طرحه المحوري  وهو أن الأمة اللبنانية لم تجد جذورها في روابط اللغة أوالإتنية أو الدين، بل أنها نتاج جغرافية لبنان التي طبعته بطابع متميز عن مناطق القارة الداخلية، بحيث كانت تجعله مواجهاً للبحر وآفاقه الواسعة  والرحبة بدل مواجهة الصحاري العقيمة والقاسية للمناطق القارية الداخلية. اعتبر بأن جغرافية لبنان حتّمت عليه أن يكون ملاذاً للجماعات البشرية المهدّدة التي كانت ترغب بالمحافظة على حرياتها الدينية والثقافية. وقد ارتبطت تلك الجماعات المتنوعة ببعضها البعض بشكل وثيق حول المبدأ الأساسي “للعيش معاً”، هذا العقد الطوعي الاجتماعي والسياسي الذي اتّفق عليه الشعب اللبناني للعيش المشترك والدفاع جماعياً عن حريته وهو العقد الذي أسّس لواقع الأمّة ولا يزال.

انها فكرة “العيش معاً” نفسها التي تعترضها بقوة اليوم ظاهرة صعود التنظيمات العابرة للحدود والقائمة على ايديولوجيات متطرفة وشديدة التصلب التي تعتمد مبادئ الشمولية الدينية والتمييز بين الناس. ولعل ظهور هذه المنظمات دفع بالمراقبين للتساؤل حول إذا كانت واقعة محو الحدود ستقضي على مبادئ العيش المشترك وإذا كان تفكيك الاثنين معاً بالتزامن مع استهداف الاقليات الدينية سيؤشر إلى سقوط “فكرة” لبنان نفسها.

وكأن بجواد بولس يطمئن لكونه رأى أن خصائص شخصية الانسان اللبناني المستمدة من طبيعة البلد ومناخه لا تسعه سوى الترويج لنظام حكم تشاركي تحديدا لأن الجغرفيا والتجربة التاريخية جعلت لبنان ملجأ للأقليات التي كانت ترغب بالمحافظة على هويتها الجماعية وحرياتها الخاصة على مدى العصور.

جواد بولس الذي كان حريصاً بشدّة على استقلال لبنان عارض بحزم أولئك الذين كانوا يرغبون في استعجال اعلانه. كان حذراً من الرؤية البريطانية لشرق أوسط ما بعد الحرب نظراً لالتزامات الحكومة البريطانية إزاء الحركة الصهيونية التي كانت ستفضي حتماً الى إرساء دولة إسرائيل وإلى سلب حقوق غير اليهود في فلسطين وتهجيرهم إلى دول الجوار  ومنها لبنان. وأدرك أن فرنسا لن تتمكن من حماية انتدابها على دول المشرق بعد انتهاء الحرب العالمية الثانية. وكان مقتنعا بأن لا جدوى من الدفع إلى إخراج فرنسا مكسورة من لبنان في لحظة ضعفها الشديد كونها مهزومة عسكريا في أوروبا. فأين المصلحة في إهانة فرنسا، الصديقة التاريخية للبنان، والدولة الوحيدة المؤهلة لحمايته من المخططات البريطانية ومن الطموحات الصهيونية؟ لِمَ لا نتشاور حول رحيل فرنسا وننتزع منها معاهدة كفيلة بحماية استقلال لبنان خلال الفترة العصيبة القادمة والدفاع عنه؟ الاستقلال لا يكون مجرّد كلمات ومواقف سطحية، بل يكون رهناً بالأعمال وبحشد الطاقات الضرورية للمحافظة عليه. وعندما أُرغمت فرنسا في النهاية على الخروج من لبنان، قال ساخراً بأن الموارنة تخلّوا عن حمايتها التي دامت لقرون دون أية ضمانات بديلة. وهذا من شأنه، على حدّ ما تنبأ به، الإفضاء الى كارثة.

لعب جواد بولس دوراً أساسياً على الساحة السياسية في القرن الماضي. كان معجباً بالرئيس إميل إدّة وقد تدرج في مكتبه وبات حليفاً سياسياً له، وكان عضواً ناشطاً في ائتلاف الكتلة الوطنية لكنه لم يكن يوماً عضواً في حزب إدّه. أصبح حامل لواء التحالف الموالي لفرنسا في الشمال واصطدم مراراً مع الكتلة الدستورية بقيادة حميد فرنجية وعبد الحميد كرامي المدعومة علناً من قبل البريطانيين. كان الجنرال سبيرز، المندوب البريطاني في لبنان، وراء هزيمة الكتلة الوطنية الأكثر شعبية، في انتخابات العام 1943. وعمل البريطانيون بشكل خاص على تقويض لائحة لبنان الشمالي التي كان يرأسها كلّ من جواد بولس وراشد المقدّم الذي تم توقيفه بتهمة ملفّقة ونُفي في ما بعد الى خارج لبنان. كان لهذه الهزيمة تأثير مدمّر على مسيرة جواد بولس الواعدة جداً كما أنها شكّلت نقطة تحوّل بالنسبة للكتلة الوطنية التي لن تتعافى تماماً من تلك النكسة.

لكن مع حلول العام 1958، أصبح جواد بولس أشبه بـ”العقل الخفي” للسياسة في لبنان. فقد كان سياسياً واسع الاطّلاع  يتمتع بثقافة عميقة وله قاعدة سياسية مهمّة وشبكة واسعة من الصداقات الشخصية تمتدّ على مختلف المجتمعات والمناطق والبلدان. إنه حالة نادرة في أوساط السياسيين اللبنانيين، فقد كان مشهوراً بصدقه ونزاهته ومعروفاً بتزهّده. لذا كان يعتبره الكثيرون مرشّحاً موثوقاً به للرئاسة. في سياق حملة رئاسة الجمهورية في العام 1958، لقي تأييد المعسكر الموالي للغرب الذي كان يسعى حثيثاً لإيجاد مرشّح موثوق به ذو قناعات وطنية وجمهورية لخلافة كميل شمعون. كانت حظوظه بالفوز فعلية جداً لدرجة أنه تلقّى تهنئة مبكرة من اللواء فؤاد شهاب عندما التقى الرجلان لمناقشة أفق التعاون بينهما في حال تبوأ بولس سدّة الرئاسة. لكن القدر لعب دوره. وفي الرابع عشر من تموز في العام 1958، قبل أسبوعين فقط على تاريخ الانتخابات، تمت الإطاحة بالمملكة الهاشمية في العراق من خلال انقلاب عسكري أتى باللواء عبد الكريم قاسم الى السلطة. ارتأى حينها المعسكر الغربي، وخصوصاً الولايات المتحدة، التي كانت معنيّة بما اعتبرته تحدّياً شيوعياً للنظام الإقليمي، أن الوضع يستدعي اختيار رجل عسكري لرئاسة لبنان فكانت الرئاسة من نصيب فؤاد شهاب.

 

كانت العلاقة مع الرئيس شهاب متوترة منذ البداية. فقد كان شهاب حذراً من الرجل الذي اعتبره منافساً سابقاً وخصماً. كما كان يخوض الرئيس منافسة سياسية مع الكتلة الوطنية برئاسة ريمون إدّة التي لطالما كان جواد بولس مؤيّداً لقضيتها ووفيا لها. لم يكن أيّ من بولس وإدّة مرتاحاً لارتقاء رجل عسكري سدّة الرئاسة في لبنان. كانا يؤمنان بشدّة بالاستثناء اللبناني وكانا مرتابين لسابقة كانا يخشيان من أن تقود البلد على طريق التسلّط وحكم الرجل الأوحد الذي كان قد أصبح نموذجا في العالم العربي. وقد تحقّقت أسوأ مخاوفهما عندما عزّز شهاب نفوذ المكتب الثاني التابع للمؤسسة العسكرية وحوّله الى أداة للقمع السياسي. ففي حال عجز الرئيس عن تأمين الدعم السياسي لسياساته يلجأ الى المؤسسة الأمنية لممارسة الضغط. ومع تقدّم ولاية شهاب، بدأ الرئيس يعتمد أكثر فأكثر على استخبارات الجيش التي كان يسمح بتوسّع نفوذها. لكن نتيجة القمع المستمر الذي كان يمارسه المكتب الثاني على الأحزاب المعارضة لشهاب، اصطفت تلك الأحزاب في النهاية ضدّه. وعندما نفّذ الحزب القومي السوري انقلابه في 31 كانون الأول العام 1961، تم تأييده من قبل الكثيرين، حتى في الأوساط المعارضة لعقيدة الحزب. وكان  الحزب ينوي استبدال شهاب ببولس لأن قناعاته اللبنانية القومية المترسّخة ستساهم بلا شكّ في التخفيف من حدّة الخوف الذي قد تثيره عقيدة الانقلابيين.

قاد فشل الانقلاب جواد بولس بعيداً عن السياسة ليقع في أحضان حبّه الأول، التاريخ. خلافاً لما هو شائع في عالم المؤرخين، لم يكن جواد بولس أكاديمياً إنما محامياً وسياسياً محترفاً. كان يعتقد أنه بافتقادهم للمعرفة الكافية حول تاريخ منطقتهم، كان السياسيون المحليون يخاطرون كثيراً بتبنّي سياسات خاطئة قد يترتب عليها تداعيات خطيرة على بلدانهم. وكان يرى، نقلاً عن بورك  (Burke)، أن “الشعوب لن تتطلع الى الأجيال القادمة التي لا تنظر بدورها أبداً الى أسلافها”.

كان يعتقد أنه بالرغم من أن دروس التاريخ لا طابع عقائدي لها، ألا أن العبر التي يمكن استنباطها من تقييم الأحداث التاريخية لها قيمة عملية، إذ أنها تقدم دروس يمكن للأفراد والأمم، لا بل عليها الاستفادة منها. يزوّدنا التاريخ، هذه المدرسة القائمة على التجارب الملموسة، بالمعرفة التجريبية للبشرية التي هي أكثر عمقاً وتنوعاً من تلك التي يمكن استخلاصها من ملاحظاتنا الشخصية. وقد أدرك أن تجارب الآخرين لا تنوّر الكثيرين لأننا نميل إلى الاعتقاد بأننا ذات طبيعة “مختلفة”. علماً بأن الحقيقة على حدّ قوله تكون في الواقع عملية أكثر منها عقلانية عندما يتم النظر إليها من منظار التاريخ والسياسة على حدّ سواء، ألا أن صانعي الرأي العام غالباً ما أبدوا استعداداً للانصياع لمذاهب وإيديولوجيات خيالية مستقاة من أفكار تجريدية ولا صلة لها بالواقع إطلاقاً، الأمر الذي يسبّب بالكثير من الإذى  والضرر. استخدم الكثير من منتقدي جواد بولس واخصامه هذه الحجة لمحاربته بالترابط مع دفاعه عن مفهوم الدولة اللبنانية.

أدرك جواد بولس أن تجربة لبنان مع النظام الجمهوري كانت هشّة وأن  الإدارة الناجحة لهذه المحاولة اليتيمة في بناء نظام حكم ديموقراطي فعلي وتشاركي في مشرق ما بعد الامبراطورية العثمانية سوف يتطلّب تضلّع المسؤولين بدروس الماضي والأسس الرئيسية للتجربة التاريخية التي لا يمكن تجاهلها من دون التعرّض لمخاطر كبيرة.

شعر أن عليه أن يأخذ على عاتقه تأمين هذه الأرضية من المعرفة وتحديد تلك الأسس لتشكّل مبادىء توجيهية لتلهم قرارات رجال الدولة. في مقاربته لمواضيعه، كان متأثراً بالمدرسة الفكرية للحتمية التاريخية. وكان يعتقد بأن الباحث المتيقّظ قادر على استنباط “ثوابت” تاريخية من معمعة الأحداث الدرامية وأن تلك الثوابت مرتبطة بدورها بتأثيرات الجغرافيا. كان يردد أن السياسة ابنة التاريخ والتاريخ وليد الجغرافيا، أما الجغرافيا فلا تتغير.

لكن هذا لا يعني أنه كان يؤمن بالحتمية المطلقة. ففي حين زعم أن الإنسان ليس مستقلاً بالكامل عن بيئته، ظلّ يعتبر الاحتمالات التي تولّدها الصدف عاملاً يساهم في دفع عجلة التاريخ لأن البشر  كائنات مستقلة نسبياً على الصعيدين النفسي والعقلي، وأن كل فرد  يتمتع بهامش كبير من الحرّية.  لكن تلك الحرّية ليست مطلقة إنما عرضة للعديد من التأثيرات الخارجية والمواقف المختلفة للبشر. إلا أن المبادرة البشرية، على مرّ الأزمنة التاريخية، لطالما كانت، نتيجة التأثيرات المسهّلة او المعوّقة للطبيعة، محكومة بظروف مقيِّدة تحدّ من تأثيرها و تفرض عليها لعب دور ثانوي.

كانت الشخصية البارزة لهذه المدرسة الفكرية المؤرّخ البريطاني آرنولد توينبي الذي كتب مقدّمة المجلّد الأول من تحفة جواد بولس ونتاجه المميّز “شعوب الشرق الأدنى وحضاراته تاريخ مقارن منذ الأصول حتى أيامنا ” (5 أجزاء) الذي كُتب بالفرنسية ونُشر بين العامين 1961 (المجلّد الأول) والعام 1968 (المجلّد الخامس). خلال تلك الفترة، أرخ أيضا لتاريخ لبنان في كتاب نشره في العام 1970 (لبنان والبلدان المجاورة).

مع بداية ما عُرف بـ”حرب السنتين” (1976-1975) أو بالحرب الأهلية اللبنانية، التسمية الأكثر شيوعاً وإن كانت غير صحيحة، وجد جواد بولس نفسه مرة جديدة في الجبهة الأمامية للساحة السياسية. برفقة شخصيات لامعة أمثال شارل مالك وفؤاد إفرام البستاني وسعيد عقل وإدوار حنين والأباتي شربل قسيس وقادة سياسيين أمثال سليمان فرنجية وبيار الجميل وكميل شمعون، أسّس “الجبهة اللبنانية” التي اجتمعت في عوكر وأصبحت الهيئة المركزية لتحديد التوجهات السياسية للمسيحيين والقوى الوطنية الأخرى في لبنان خلال الحرب. كان للجبهة اللبنانية دور فعّال في تحديد السياسات وتأمين الإدارة وتعبئة الموارد والدعم والتنسيق بين مختلف الأحزاب الوطنية في مواجهة منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية وحلفائها اليساريون والقوميون السوريون ورعاتهم الأجانب. في العام 1978، استقال من الجبهة بعد مجزرة إهدن، واعتزل في دير “يسوع الملك” حيث عاش السنوات المتبقية من حياته. في العام 1982، قبل بضعة أسابيع على وفاته، نشر عمله الأخير المكتوب أيضاً بالفرنسية إنما المترجم الى العربية بعنوان “التحوّلات الكبرى في تاريخ الشرق الأدنى منذ الإسلام”.

كان الدافع الأول الأساسي لمؤلفات جواد بولس إثبات أصالة الكيان اللبناني على مرّ التاريخ ودحض وجهة النظر القائلة بأن لبنان دولة من ابتكار اتفاقية سايكس بيكو. كانت كتاباته تدعم أيضاً الرأي القائل بأن عقيدة سوريا الكبرى مجرّد تركيبة سياسية نابعة من الخيال وأن سوريا الكبرى هذه التي تشمل بلاد الشام ضمن وحدة سياسية، ليس لها وجود في مجمل تاريخ الشرق. وأراد في كتابه الأخير أن يثبت بأن مفهوم الأمّة الإسلامية المرتبطة بمنطقة جغرافية محددة ضمن الدولة التي أنشأها الخلفاء الأوائل، كان بحدّ ذاته مجرد تركيبة عقائدية لا أسس جغرافية أو تاريخية لها في المشرق. الخلافة الوحيدة التي كانت عربية أصيلة والتي كانت متمركزة في دمشق لم تستمر سوى مئة عام (الخلافة الأموية من العام 640 الى العام 750)، وتلك مجرد رفّة جفن على المستوى التاريخي.  بعد ذلك، أصبحت الخلافات خاضعة لتأثير الفرس والأتراك غير العرب، وانتقل مركزها من دمشق المشرقية، وانفصلت حتى، لبرهة من الزمن، عن المذهب السني (في عهد الفاطميين).

يرى هنري كيسنجر “يتم التعامل مع القضايا بشكل واقعي أكثر من ذي قبل، ترسّخت الفرضية القائلة أنه يمكن العثور على جواب لكلّ سؤال، وأنه لا يجدر التفكير بالمشاكل والحلول بقدر ما يجب “البحث عنها”. لكن في سياق العلاقات بين الدول –في الكثير من المجالات- يجب وضع المعلومات، كي تكون فعّالة بشكل حقيقي، ضمن نطاق أوسع يشمل التاريخ والتجربة كي تتحول الى معرفة فعلية. ويكون المجتمع محظّاً إن استطاع قادته الارتقاء من حين الى آخر الى مستوى الحكمة.”

تلك هي الحكمة التي سعى جواد بولس للكشف عنها ونقلها. ومن سوء حظّنا أن صوته قد خُنق وسط معمعة الممارسة اللبنانية القاضية بـ”أخذ ما استطعت بأسرع ما يمكن” التي كانت سائدة في أوساط الحكومة بعد الاستقلال ولا تزال.

الهدف من إنشاء هذا الموقع الإلكتروني هو إعادة إحياء ذكرى هذا الرجل السياسي الوطني الذي كان مؤمناً بعظمة وطنه وشعبه والذي لم يستكين الى أن وضع المبادىء النظرية التي بنى عليها قناعاته.  يهدف أيضا إلى تعريف الأجيال القادمة التي أقنعت زورا أن بلدهم هو كيان مصطنع أو خطأ تاريخي عابر سيتم تصحيحه حينما يرسى لنظام اقليمي جديد. إنه بشكل أساسي أرشيف للإنتاج الفكري لرجل، لا زلت على قناعة بأن انتصار رؤياه في المجال السياسي، لو تمت،  كانت ستغيّر مجرى تاريخ لبنان الحديث وتحميه ربما من الاضطرابات التي واجهها من النصف الثاني للقرن العشرين الى يومنا هذا.

أخذت قرارا بنشر أعمال جواد بولس على الإنترنت بشكل كتب إلكترونية كي تصبح مرة جديدة في متناول الجمهور العريض. تجدر الإشارة الى أن تلك الكتب لم تعد قيد النشر وهي غير متوفرة في المكتبات. كما يسمح الموقع بالاطّلاع على محاضارات أعطاها ومقابلات أدلى بها ومقالات كتبها وتحقيقات حول نشاطاته وآرائه ورسائل كتبها أو استلمها وآراء شكّلت مراجع له ولعمله. حاولت أن أجعل هذا الأرشيف كاملاً بقدر المستطاع. حتماً ستُضاف وثائق جديدة، ونرحّب بأية مبادرة من القراء لنشر وثائق أو صور أو معلومات قد تكون بحوذتهم بغية إغناء الموقع .جميع المساهمات هي موضع ترحيب.

أشكركم على زيارة الموقع وآمل أن تجدوا بأنه يؤمّن معلومات قيّمة حول تاريخ لبنان والشرق الأوسط وأنه أداة مفيدة للأشخاص الذين يريدون التعمّق في فهم الديناميات التي كانت وراء تشكيل الوطن اللبناني والتي لا يزال لها تأثير على مجمل الشرق الأوسط.

ما كان هذا الموقع ليبصر النور لولا المساهمة السخية للسيد إدمون أبشي. عندما اتصلت بإدمون لاشكره على الهبة التي تقدّم بها سابقاً لتمويل مشروع ترميم ضريح يوسف بك كرم وتمثال البطريرك الدويهي، تحدّاني لأختبر  استعداده للالتزام بتمويل أي مشروع له علاقة بالحفاظ على تاريخ وتراث إهدن، بلدتنا الحبيبة. ففعلت. وكانت النتيجة دعمه السريع والسخي وغير المشروط وغير المحدود لهذا المشروع.  أودّ أن أعرب عن امتناني لهذا الرجل الإستثنائي الذي لم يبتعد عن جذور أجداده والذي بقي وفياً للقيم التي صنعت قوة الموارنة: الإيمان، صلابة الشخصية، الإلتزام، تثمين الحرية، حبّ الأرض، التعلّق بالهوية، وحدة الهدف وسخاء القلب والروح. ليباركه الله وليكثر من أمثاله.

 

جواد سيمون بولس
بيروت في 13 آب، 2015

 ——-

 

2 comments:

  1. Excellent initiative. The young generation must know that Lebanon had great politicians with insight, wisdom, culture and integrity. The lack of such men is the great tragedy of the actual Lebanon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ar     En

small banner

Radio interview with Jawad Boulos on Radio Liban

 


Dear Reader,

This site is dedicated to the memory of a Lebanese statesman who could probably best be defined as the theoretician of the Lebanese Nation. Jawad Boulos was born at the turn of the twentieth century or the dying years of the Ottoman Empire. This was an era when nationalistic aspirations in the Arab Orient were starting to find articulation in the writings and pronouncements of an educated elite which mostly looked towards the West for inspiration, but wished to moor the lofty principles of “self-evident“ rights and the aspiration to self -determination in the latticework of the fertile crescent’s historical experience.
Jawad Boulos believed as he later wrote that Lebanon had, throughout history, exhibited the features of a geographical, social and economic unit bounded by borders that were among the few natural frontiers possessed by any of the countries of what is now known as the Middle East. He held that the reality of the existence of the Lebanese nation withstood both the scrutiny of rational analysis and the test of historical experience. Lebanon, he declared, was indeed one of the oldest nations on earth. The fact that its borders had been definitely set by the colonial powers of the early twentieth century did not contradict this view. France herself, as he pointed out by way of example, had seen her borders vary throughout history and her current frontiers were not entirely historical in the basic sense of the word. Nor did give credit to those who held out the map as proof that Lebanon had been carved out of Syria and that geography commanded that both countries should constitute an evident political unit. Lebanon’s situation vis a vis Syria was not exceptional he held; could anyone seriously argue, for example, that Portugal was an inherent part of Spain? Or that Chile was carved out of Argentina?
Our politician turned historian outlined the essence of his thinking on the roots of Lebanese nationalism in his seminal essay, the “Real Foundations of contemporary Lebanon” which is perhaps his most revealing and challenging work. In it, he developed the fundamental idea that the Lebanese nation was a not rooted in the ties of language, ethnicity or religion but was rather forged by Lebanon’s geography which set it apart from its continental hinterland while orienting it towards the sea and its wide horizons rather than the sterile deserts of the interior. He held that Lebanon’s geography had practically compelled it to become a country of refuge for persecuted communities who wished to preserve their religious and cultural identities. These communities were cemented together by the fundamental concept of “vivre ensemble”; that voluntary social and political compact of the Lebanese people to live together and, collectively, to defend their freedoms. It is precisely this compact that was, and remains, the bedrock of the Lebanese nation.
It is this same vivre-ensemble that has been put under severe stress by the emergence of supranational organizations informed by unyielding and radical ideologies rooted in the idea of exclusivism and religious supremacy. And it is the rise of such organizations that has led informed observers to wonder whether the erasure of borders would lead to the end of consociationalism and whether the dismantling of both, concomitantly with the systematic targeting of religious minorities, forbears the definitive failure of the very “idea” of Lebanon.

Presciently, it was Jawad Boulos’ view that the very nature of the Lebanese individual imprinted by the country’s geography and climate could promote nothing other than a participative system of government precisely because its geography and historical experience made it a refuge for minorities who wished to preserve both their collective identity and their personal freedoms across historical times.
A firm proponent of Lebanese independence, Jawad Boulos firmly opposed those who wished to hurry its declaration. He was wary of British vision for the Post War Middle East in view of the British government’s commitments to the Zionist movement which would inevitably culminate in the establishment of Israel and consequentially, to the dispossession of non-Jews in Palestine and their displacement to neighboring countries and Lebanon in particular. He understood France could not maintain the mandate in the Levant long after the end of the War. If France was going to leave anyway he reasoned, why force her out while she was defeated and weak and submit perforce to British designs and Zionist ambitions? Why humiliate France and risk her centuries old friendship? Why not negotiate France’s departure and obtain from her a treaty commitment to protect and defend Lebanon’s independence in the turbulent times to come? Independence was not about words and posturing. It was about actions and the marshaling of resources which would be needed to maintain it. When the French were indeed compelled to leave, he quipped that the Maronites had abandoned her centuries old protection while securing little in the way of countervailing guarantees. This, he predicted, would prove catastrophic.
Jawad Boulos was a fixture of the political scene of his day. An admirer and political ally of President Emile Edde in who’s law firm he trained, he was an active member of the National Bloc (Ketleh watanyeh) coalition though never a member of Edde’s party. He became the standard bearer of the pro-French coalition in North Lebanon and faced off repeatedly against the Constitutional Bloc which was led by Hamid Frangieh and Abdel Hamid Karame and openly supported by the British. General Spears, the chief British representative in Lebanon actively engineered the defeat of the more popular National Bloc in the 1943 elections. The British were particularly active in undermining the electoral list in North Lebanon which was co-headed by Jawad Boulos and Rashed Mokaddem who was arrested on trumped up charges and later sent into exile. That defeat would have a devastating effect on the career of our promising statesman just as it would mark the turning point for the National Bloc which would never fully recover.
By 1958 however, Jawad Boulos had become a sort of “eminence grise” in Lebanon . He was a politician of deep erudition and broad culture with a significant political base and a wide network of personal friendships spanning communities, regions and countries. A rarity among Lebanese politicians, he had a reputation for honesty, integrity and was recognized as an ascetic. As such, he was considered a credible and necessary candidate for the Presidency by many. In the run up for the Presidential elections of 1958, he had the favors of the Western camp who were actively seeking a credible candidate of nationalistic and republican convictions to succeed President Camille Chamoun. His chances were so real that he received the early congratulations of General Fouad Chehab when the two men met at his home in Beirut to discuss opportunities for cooperation under an expected Boulos presidency. But fate intervened. On July 14th 1958, just two weeks shy of the election, the Hachemite Monarchy in Irak was overthrown in a coup which brought General Abdel Karim Kassem to power. The United States, concerned with what it perceived as a Communist challenge to the Pax Americana, determined that a military man was needed at the helm in Lebanon resulting in the election of Fouad Chehab.
The relationship with the now President Chehab was contentious from the very beginning. Chehab was wary of a man whom he viewed as an erstwhile competitor and opponent. The President was also engaged in a political contest with the National Bloc led by Raymond Edde whose Party Boulos supported and remained loyal to all his life. Both Boulos and Edde viewed the accession of a military man to the Presidency in Lebanon with unease. They deeply believed in Lebanese exceptionalism and were unsettled by a precedent which they feared would lead the country down the path of military authoritarianism and one-man rule which had become the norm in the Arab world. Their worst fears were realized when Chehab empowered the military’s second bureau and turned it into an apparatus of political repression. Where the President could not secure political support for his policies he would turn to the security establishment to crank up the pressure. As the Chehab presidency unfolded, the President became increasingly dependent on Army Intelligence whose mandate he constantly allowed to expand. The constant persecution by the Second Bureau of political factions who opposed Chehab ended up aligning these factions against him. When the Syrian Nationalist Party attempted its coup on December 31st 1961, they were quietly cheered on by many, even among those who opposed the party’s ideology. The party’s intention was to replace Chehab with Boulos whose impeccable Lebanese nationalist credentials would undoubtedly temper the fear that the putchists’ ideology would inevitably inspire.
The failure of the coup once again drove Jawad Boulos away from politics and into the arms of his first love; history.

As an exception among historians, Jawad Boulos was not an academic but a lawyer and a professional politician. He believed that absent sufficient knowledge of the history of their region, local politicians stood at great risk of adopting faulty policies that could have disastrous implications for the country. He understood, citing Burke that “People will not look forward to posterity, who never look backward to their ancestors”. He believed that although the lessons of history were not dogmatic in nature, the understandings commanded by an appreciation of historical events have practical value in that they convey teachings which individuals and nations can and must use to their benefit. As a school of concrete experiences, history introduces us to experimental knowledge of humanity which is deeper and more varied than that which can be gleaned from our personal observations. He realized that the experience of others does not enlighten the many because we are conditioned to believe that we are of a “different” nature. Even though truth is in reality factual rather than rational when viewed through the prisms of both history and politics, he argued, the shapers of opinion have all too frequently been ready to cede to chimeric doctrines and ideologies which are rooted in abstractions and have no link to the reality thereby causing much damage and destruction. It was an argument that many of Jawad Boulos’ critics and detractors would use against him in connection with his defense of the concept of a Lebanese nation.
Jawad Boulos keenly knew that Lebanon’s experiment with republicanism was fragile and that the successful administration of this unique attempt at sustaining a truly democratic and fully inclusive system of government in the Post Ottoman Levant required that officials should be well versed in the lessons that the past had to offer and aware of the fundamental drivers of the historical experience that could only be ignored at great peril.

He felt he needed to take on the responsibility for providing that bedrock of knowledge and identifying those drivers to serve as guidelines informing the decisions of statesmen.
In approaching his subject, he was intellectually inspired by the school of thought of historical determinism. He believed that a careful scholar could uncover historical “constants” in the unfolding drama of events and that these constants were themselves determined by geography. Politics was the daughter of history and history the son of geography and geography itself was immutable.
This did not mean that he believed in absolute determinism. While he held true that Man was not wholly independent of his environment, chance probabilities remained a factor in driving history because men were relatively autonomous beings both physiologically and mentally and each individual retains a large element of freedom. This freedom is not absolute but affected by numerous external influences with color man’s attitudes. On balance over historical times, human initiative favored or hindered as it is by the influences of nature, is constrained by restrictive conditions that tamp down its impact and condemn it to a secondary role.
The leading luminary of this school of thought was the British historian Arnold Toynbee who wrote the foreword of the first tome of Jawad Boulos’ sweeping work and masterpiece “Peuples et Civilisations du Proche Orient des Origines a nos jours” which was written in French and published between the years 1961 (Tome I) and 1968 (Tome V). During this time he also wrote a history of Lebanon which he published in 1970 (Lebanon and the neighboring countries).
With the onset of what became known as the “two year war” (1975-1976) but more commonly, if incorrectly, as the Lebanese Civil War, Jawad Boulos found himself once again at the forefront of the political stage. Along with leading lights such as Charles Malek, Fouad Ephrem El Boustani, Said Akl, Edward Honein , Abbott Charbel Kassis and political patriarchs Sleiman Frangieh, Pierre Gemayel and Camille Chamoun he founded the “Lebanese Front” which met in Awkar and devolved into the central policy making body of Christian and other nationalist forces in Lebanon during the war. The Lebanese front was instrumental in devising policy, providing direction, mobilizing resources and support and coordinating between the various nationalist factions facing the PLO and its allies in the Lebanese left, the Syrian nationalists and their foreign mentors. In 1978, he resigned in disgust from the front after the Ehden Massacre. He retired to the “Christ Roi” monastery to live out the remaining years of his life. In 1982, a few weeks before his death, he published his last work also written in French but translated into Arabic “Les Tournants Majeurs de l’Histoire du Proche Orient depuis l’Islam”.
Jawad Boulos’ body of work was aimed first and foremost at demonstrating the authenticity of the Lebanese entity throughout history and defeating the view that Lebanon was an artificial social and political entity wholly proceeding from the Sykes Picot agreement. His writings also defended the view that the ideology of a greater Syria was a romantic fallacy and that this purported Greater Syria which would encompass the entire Levant had never existed throughout history, nor could it exist as a political unit in modern times. His last book aimed at proving that the concept of an Islamic Oumma, inasmuch as it would be attached to a specific geographical area such as the State created by the first Caliphs was itself a purely ideological construct with no geographical or historical foundations in the Levant. The only purely Arab caliphate which was centered on Damascus lasted close to 100 years (the Omeyyad Caliphate (640—750); the blink of an eye in historical terms. After that, the Caliphate(s) came under the influence of the Persians and Turks, ceased to be centered on Levantine Damascus, and intermittently, would also move away from Sunnism (under the Fatimids).
In an era where, to quote Henry Kissinger “ ever more issues are treated as if of factual nature, the premise becomes established that for every question there is a researchable answer, that problems and solutions are not so much to be thought through as to be “looked up”. But in the relations between states- and in many fields- information, to be truly useful, must be placed within a broader context of history and experience to emerge as actual knowledge. And a society is fortunate if its leaders can occasionally rise to the level of wisdom.”
It is this wisdom that Jawad Boulos sought to uncover and communicate. It is our loss that his, and other like minded voices were drowned out in the drama of Lebanon’s ”grab what you can as fast as you can” attitude that permeated government after independence and till this day.
This website aims to celebrate the memory of this patriotic statesman who believed in the greatness of his Nation and of its people and who would not rest until he had put forward the theoretical principles that informed his convictions. It aims at introducing the coming generations who have been steeped in the idea that their country is somehow an artificial entity, a passing historical mistake that will somehow be corrected by the emergence of a new regional order. It is in essence an archive of the intellectual outpouring of a man whose vindication in politics, I remain convinced, would have changed the course of the modern history of Lebanon and perhaps protected it from much of the turbulence that it faced in the second half of the twentieth century right up to the date of this writing.

I have taken the decision of making Jawad Boulos’ works available online in the form of e-Books so that they can once again be at available to the larger public. These books are unfortunately no longer in print and are not available in book stores. The site also provides access to a selection of conferences he gave, interviews he granted, articles he wrote, reports about his activities and views, letters he composed or received and opinions that referenced him or his work. I have tried to make this archive as complete as possible. Inevitably new documents will surface as I hope they will. Readers are welcome to post any documents, photos or information they may have to further enrich the site. All contributions are welcome.
Thank you for visiting the site, I hope you will conclude that it provides valuable insight into the history of Lebanon and the Middle East and a useful tool for those who are searching for a deeper understanding the dynamics that have shaped our Nation and continue to impact the entire Middle East.
This Website would not have seen the day without the generous contribution of Mr. Edmond Abchi. When I called Edmond to thank him for the grant he had previously made to fund the restoration of the mausoleum of Youssef Bek Karam and the statue of Patriarch Douaihi, he challenged me to test his commitment to any project connected with upholding the history and traditions of our beloved Ehden. I did! And the result was his unhesitant, unconditional and unlimited support to this project. I would like to express my gratitude to this exceptional man who has never strayed far from his roots of his ancestors and who remains anchored in the values that have made the strength of the Maronites: Faith, strength of character, commitment to the task at hand, attachment to freedom, love of the land, attachment to identity, unity of purpose and generosity of spirit. May his kind multiply and be blessed.

 

Jawad Simon Boulos

Beirut on August 13th, 2015

 

———-

5 comments:

  1. Congratulations cheikh Jawad
    it’s a very good step to let people how much was JAWAD BOULOS a geat man

  2. Great rich site , got to know many new info about the history of Lebanon and by extrapolation , it’s future . Thanks for those who compiled the data on the site

  3. Dear Sir,

    Outstanding work. Congratulations!

    I have some of your grandfather’s works and learned most of Lebanese history from him.

    Sincerely,

    Pierre

  4. انني اتطلع بشغفٍ لقراءة ما أستطيع من كتبه كونني مغرم بشخصيته منذ زمن بعيد ، إلا أنه لم تسمح الظروف لي بالحصول على أي من كتاباته .
    لقد أعجبت بالمقدمة لأنها كانت على قدر كبير من الشفافية وهو ما نفتقده في لبنان كثيراً، من جديد شكراً لك لأنك جعلته ممكناً التعرف على أفكار هذا الرجل العظيم من بلادي ….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *